jump to navigation

Birchblogger review – Smashbox Full Exposure Palette March 28, 2014

Posted by bettyjoan in Pretty.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

One of the MANY things I love about Birchbox is that they do a lot of outreach to their customers – you know, contests and giveaways and interactive chats and whatnot.  I have learned a lot by being a part of the Birchblogger community!  Recently, I was selected via one of their Twitter promotions to receive a complimentary Smashbox Full Exposure Palette.  Again, just to make sure we have full disclosure – I received the palette for free, but the opinions here are my own (based on using the product for a few weeks).  I am already very familiar with the Smashbox brand – I love their Photo Finish primers and their CC cream has been a staple in my makeup case for months now.

IMG_0651

First and foremost, lest you balk at the somewhat hefty pricetag on this item ($49), let me assure you – it is a LOT of makeup!  There are 14 neutral shades in total (7 matte and 7 shimmer), and they range from very light to very dark.  There is also a double-sided brush (which is helpful when you don’t want to get shimmer everywhere) and a travel-sized mascara.  For those who may be intimidated by all of the options, have no fear!  The palette also comes with an insert that guides you to three different looks per eye shape.  I really enjoyed learning about all the different ways to accentuate various types of eyes.

IMG_0660

I mostly played around with daytime looks, and they all came out great.  The silky texture of the shadows are nice on the eye, and the shades blend very well.  I did a number of combos, all of which were subtle and work-appropriate, but they still flattered my individual eye shape.  The mascara was good for everyday looks, but I didn’t prefer it for more dramatic “going out” eyes (I’ll stick with Cover Girl Lash Blast for that).

IMG_0667

When I amped things up for an evening look, I was very pleasantly surprised by how natural my eyes still looked – just with a little more “oomph.”  This is a palette I just want to play around with all the time, since there are so many fun options!

The shadows had pretty good staying power, though clearly a primer would help (and I couldn’t find mine anywhere – d’oh).

I really liked that I could blend and layer these shades without all of a sudden getting clown eyes.  🙂  What I liked to do best was to use a colored liner for a bit of pop and then have these shadows as a more natural, smoky element.  I wish I could share some great pictures of me wearing the shadows, but all I have is my crappy camera phone, and let’s just say the shots came out…not so pretty.  One of these days I’ll invest in a good REAL camera!

Bottom line, I would definitely buy this product – for someone like me who mostly gears wardrobe and makeup to an office environment, the Full Exposure Palette is a great fit.  Unfortunately (well, fortunately for Smashbox and Birchbox), the palette is so popular that it is out of stock at Birchbox until May – so I am super grateful that I get to keep using mine now and into the coming months!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

