jump to navigation

January Birchbox review January 25, 2014

Posted by bettyjoan in Pretty, Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I was out of town on a business trip when my most recent Birchbox was delivered, so I was extra excited to dive into the samples.

IMG_0564IMG_0565

You can probably guess which item got sampled first – I love it when Birchbox sends chocolate goodies!  I got the honey version of the Chuao ChocoPod, and it was delicious.  I don’t think it was out of the box for 2 minutes before I had devoured it.  🙂

The only product I haven’t tried yet is the Color Club Cocktail Hour polish, in Top Shelf.  Frankly, I was a bit disappointed to see this sample – a couple of months ago, I got the On The Rocks shade, and it was fine but nothing special.  The website said that we were supposed to get a color from the Harlem Lights collection, which I would have preferred.  Oh, well.

My favorite sample was definitely the Embryolisse Lait-Crème Concentré (24-Hour Miracle Cream).

moisturizer

It was such good timing to get an amazing moisturizer, since it has been colder than cold in DC lately.  This cream is very powerful, but it still manages to feel light and not greasy at all.  I loved it even before I knew that it doubles as a makeup remover!  I will definitely be buying this product when my current moisturizer runs out.  This is exactly why I adore Birchbox – you can really find your next go-to product at any moment!

The Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle was a pleasant surprise.  I thought nothing could outdo my B&B Prep spray, but this absolutely did.  It’s thicker than I was expecting, but it didn’t weigh my hair down at all.  And the smell?  AMAZING.  I’m going to continue using it and make sure I really love it before I switch, but right now I’m thinking I have a new standard.

Finally, another perfect-for-winter product – the Dr. Lipp Nipple Balm for lips (yeah, the name could use some work).  This is a very thick balm, so I think I would mostly wear it overnight.  However, I am going to try it over some of my matte lipsticks to see if it adds any moisture and/or staying power.  I’m not sold on this product yet, but we shall see.

Are any of you Birchbox subscribers?  What did you think of January’s selections?

Comments»

1. Must Have Boxes - January 28, 2014

You received some fabulous products this month!

– KW
http://musthaveboxes.com


Leave a Reply

