jump to navigation

All that glitters: Rent the Runway review January 21, 2014

Posted by bettyjoan in Pretty.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have previously expressed my love for Rent the Runway, but I actually just wore my first of their dresses.  One of my best girlfriends was having a birthday, and she encouraged everyone to get dolled up and bust out the sequins – I didn’t need any convincing!  Here’s the dress I ended up renting, and here’s a pic of me with the birthday girl:

RTR

The whole RTR process is awesome.  When you order, you specify when you want your dress(es) to arrive (they recommend at least one day before your event), and they show up right on time and very nicely packaged in RTR garment bags, which you get to keep.  There are also samples in the box – this time, I got some shampoo/conditioner/hair mask samples from L’Oreal.

If available, you get to choose two sizes for your primary dress.  So, for this sparkly number, I asked for a 6 and an 8, and the 8 ended up feeling more comfortable.  Also, you can choose a second dress for a reduced amount, which is great if you have multiple events in the same weekend, or if you change your mind about what you want to wear.  I loved the second dress I ordered as well, but I didn’t have another occasion that weekend – BUT, it’s nice to know which size fits, so I can snatch it for another time.

If nothing fits (which happened to me on NYE), you can either call the RTR folks and they will work to rush another dress to you, OR you can send it back within a shorter timeframe and get a credit (which is what I did).

If your rental works out and you wear the dress(es), you just send them back on your specified date (you can choose a 4- or 8-day rental, and obviously the latter is more expensive), in the pre-paid, pre-labeled UPS envelope.  So easy!

Normally, RTR charges for shipping and insurance for each rental.  However, you can join their “PRO” program for $29.95 a year, and you get free shipping/insurance on all rentals AND a free dress on your birthday!  I joined as soon as I heard about it, and it pretty much has already paid for itself.  And, clearly, it’s good for RTR because I will order more often knowing that I don’t have those extra costs (it makes rental more attractive as opposed to buying).

Interested in RTR?  Click my referral link, and you’ll get a $20 credit when you complete your first rental.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

