jump to navigation

Holiday ho-hums December 6, 2013

Posted by bettyjoan in Running.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I don’t know what it is about this time of year, but my motivation for exercise has been seriously sapped.  I absolutely SHOULD be working out – not only did I overindulge during Thanksgiving, but marathon training has officially started – yet I always find excuses not to.  Work is crazy.  I’m tired.  It’s too cold.  And so on and so on…

This weekend, we will be attending our first group run with Team In Training – it’s only 5 miles (see, I can’t be THAT far removed from running – I still use “only” to describe 5 miles), but hopefully it will provide a much-needed spark.  The social aspect of exercise always gives me a bit more of a boost!

Perhaps it’s a good time to start thinking about my 2014 goals – after all, 2013 is almost over, and the new year provides a nice (if a bit cliched) backdrop for self-reflection, evaluation, and target-setting.  Should I be focusing on weight loss?  Running a PR?  Getting back into yoga and/or cycling?  I think I will spend some time thinking about what I want to accomplish, and then I can come back here and jot everything down for accountability.

Till then, I will simply strive to enjoy this weekend’s TNT activities and carry a refreshed sense of positivity and enthusiasm into a new training season.

Comments»

1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals - December 6, 2013

Just getting back out there and starting back up is the best way to get over the ho hums!

2. Run, Run Rudolph | The Hungry Triathlete - December 16, 2013

[…] the horrible holiday-themed commercials, and the bitter cold.  Oh, I’ve mentioned before that I don’t like the cold?  My bad.  Never hurts to […]


Leave a Reply

