jump to navigation

A vicious cycle October 9, 2013

Posted by bettyjoan in Cycling.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Remember how I said I was going to step up the training after N2S, and that I was going to find a race to enter before the Army 10-Miler to ensure that I wouldn’t slack off?

I am a big stinking liar.

Of course, the fibbing is not intentional – at the time, I really DID want to train in earnest for the Army race, and I really DID think I could find a 5K or something to keep myself on track.  As usual, life just got in the way – it’s as simple as that.  I am still going to run the 10-Miler in about a week and a half, and I’m certain that it won’t be any kind of record-setting event for me.  But, since it is my first race of that distance, it is an automatic PR – and, of course, I will aim to enjoy the scenery on the course since I won’t be so concerned with the pace.  Hopefully, with cooler weather and a renewed sense of my running self, I can break the cycle and truly get back to loving running again.

One kind of cycle I have been perpetuating lately is actual cycling.  Yes, ladies and gentleman, this Hungry Triathlete has actually been on a bike more than she has been running lately (which will shock all of you who know my trials and tribulations with the second leg of the tri).  I joined Capital Bikeshare, which allows me to bike to and/or from work whenever I like, without having to worry about locking my road bike up or making sure I have the right shoes or fretting about my bike getting stolen or rained on.  All I have to do is have a helmet handy (and technically, I don’t even have to do that, as helmets are not legally required for adult cyclists in DC – but you’d better believe I’m always going to wear one), and I can go to any of the hundreds of kiosks to grab a bike and go.  It really is a great system, and I have learned to feel much more comfortable on these city roads – and when the weather is fall-like and gorgeous, there is something so refreshing and zen about ditching my normal crowded commute and getting some me time.

Of course, the down side to commuting by bike is…well…there are a few.  Can you guess what they are?  Do you have some of your own?  Feel free to share – my thoughts will follow in another post.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

