jump to navigation

Ragnar Tennessee race report – part 2 November 24, 2012

Posted by bettyjoan in Races, Running.
Tags: , ,
trackback

After our first full cycle of both vans, our van decided to find something to eat and hit the local Wal-Mart before moving to the next major exchange for showers and possible naptime.  That turned out to be ill-advised, because a) the exchange didn’t open when we were ready, due to a high school football game, and b) Van 1 absolutely BLEW through their second legs, and they put us about 30 minutes ahead of schedule.  So, I was naked in a locker room (after simultaneously the best and worst shower of my life) when I got a text from Van 1 that basically said, “Get ready, here we come!”  After some squealing and running around and minor panicking, we got our shit together and headed to the handoff point.  Unfortunately, this is where pictures get kind of spotty – it is hard to capture nighttime Ragnar-ing!

The second legs seemed to go really well.  They were a lot quieter than the first round – I think that makes sense, since they were in the middle of the night AND they were each generally a bit shorter.  We tried to stay close to our runners as much as possible, which ended up being fortuitous for Raphael, who took a wrong turn at the beginning of his leg and would have wound up in Ohio had we not seen him and put him back on the right path.

By the time it was my turn to run again, everyone had one thing on their minds – SLEEP.  I was less anxious about this leg, since it was half the distance and I had already survived one overnight run, but I gotta tell ya – it still worked my nerves.  There were dogs barking EVERYWHERE in the distance, and I was sure I was going to have a run-in with one of them at some point.  Thankfully, I focused on my breathing and I got through the 3.6 miles with my sanity in tact.  After passing the bracelet to Van 1, I headed into the high school gym and settled into my sleeping bag.  Two hours of sleep would have to do…

Comments»

1. How to have a Ragnarly, dude! relay race | The Hungry Triathlete - September 5, 2014

[…] a week out from Ragnar DC – squee!  I started re-reading posts this morning from Ragnar TN back in 2012, and it got me all excited for the fun that is to come.  But, I also started getting a little […]


Leave a Reply

