jump to navigation

Seasons change November 8, 2012

Posted by bettyjoan in Running.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Last time I posted, it was summer – I was talking about record high temperatures and the Peachtree Road Race.  Now it is November, and holy crap, we are leaving today to embark upon the craziest running event ever (the Tennessee Ragnar – more on that in a minute).  What the hell happened???

Well, life and work and all of that crap happened.  After my boss got promoted in late April/early May, things just snowballed out of control until his replacement (long story) arrived in October.  Then October decided to be a hella hairy month instead of the usual breather (we switch over our fiscal year in October, so generally we get at least SOME kind of break – not so this time around).  In between, I traveled a lot for business, I tried to get into yoga (verdict: I like it, but I definitely need more practice, and finding the time is tough), and we also trained for and completed both the Bike MS two-day ride AND the Athens half marathon.  So, it’s not like we’ve been sitting on our asses, but I wouldn’t say we’ve been focusing on our training quite the way we’d like.

Which brings me to today.  Ragnar COMPLETELY snuck up on us.  I wasn’t stressing it TOO much, since my legs were easy-to-moderate difficulty, but then one of our teammates had an awful family emergency and had to back out at the last minute.  We couldn’t find a replacement runner on such short notice, so we had to play fruit basket turnover and switch everyone around.  Now I am running more mileage and harder legs than I was before, so I am a lot more nervous about the whole thing.  Plus, I believe now more of my assigned shifts will be in the dark of night than previously.  Eek!  Guess I better use the time I have today and make sure I have some Mace to carry with me…I am such a weenie when it comes to running in the dark.  I can only pray the someone else will be running around my pace, and I will have some company!

All anxiety aside, I am looking forward to the Ragnar experience.  I think it is going to be a lot of fun.  Challenging, definitely.  But how many people can say they have run from Chattanooga to Nashville with a dozen of their friends?  🙂

I am sure there will be a follow up post.  Stay tuned!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment