jump to navigation

Life in the Fast Lane March 13, 2012

Posted by bettyjoan in Races, Running.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been over two months since I posted.  It’s certainly been eventful!  Hubs and I have raised over $4,700 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (but we still have over $3,500 to go, so feel free to donate here: http://pages.teamintraining.org/ga/madrid12/therhoadeslesstraveled), and we’ve passed the 16-mile threshold in our training.  I can’t believe we only have two more long runs (one 18-miler and one 20-miler) until we taper and then FLY TO MADRID!

Perhaps the most exciting thing that’s happened since the beginning of 2012?  I got fast.  No, really, I did!

I’ve been working with Coach Eric’s Misery Loves Company group since September-ish, and on February 11, I finally had a chance to take the ol’ legs for a spin to see what they could really do.  The ATC Hearts and Soles 5K was a pretty chill race in the sense that there was no shirt, no huge prizes, no live music, etc etc.  However, you could tell right away that it was a big deal from a competition standpoint – tons of people were there, trying to PR and improve their Peachtree Road Race corral.

I told hubby that as much as I loved running with him normally, I wanted to race for myself and really put my training to the test.  I was a little worried when the gun went off, since I was in the middle of the pack and it took a few moments to find some space in the crowd.  Once I got into a groove, though, I was in an awesome place – I felt confident, I felt controlled, and I felt like I could really reach my goal (which, consequently, was a 30 minute 5K).  I looked down at my watch a couple of times, and I couldn’t believe how fast I was going because it felt so EASY.  Before I knew it, I was sprinting toward the finish line.

My official time?  28:58!!!  That’s right, over TWO MINUTES FASTER than my previous 5K best.  Certainly, finishing my first marathon is my proudest running moment to date – but this was absolutely a close, close second.

As if the race couldn’t get any better, my husband decided that he was so proud and impressed that he wanted to be a part of MLC.  So, now I finally have a pace buddy for Tuesday night track workouts!

Next up: we’re running the Rock & Roll USA 1/2 Marathon in DC this weekend, and I cannot wait to see one of my favorite cities on foot (I definitely wasn’t a runner when I lived in the Nation’s capital).  Stay tuned for what will hopefully be a fantastic race report!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

