jump to navigation

2011: A Run-Through January 1, 2012

Posted by bettyjoan in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

I know I probably should have written this “year in review” BEFORE the clock turned over to 2012, but I still think it’s worthwhile to look back and see what this past year has held in terms of my athletic pursuits.

At the beginning of 2011, I was preparing to run the Publix Half Marathon here in Atlanta, and it was to be my first big race since Chicago AND my first 13.1 with my husband (he’d never done a half before, and after watching me run Chicago, he decided it was time to get on the bandwagon).  Unfortunately, I broke my ankle in early March and had to watch from the sidelines as hubby completed his first half marathon.  Truthfully, I’m really grateful to have gotten that experience – it was so amazing to see him and cheer him on at different points on the course.

Once I was healed, we did a couple of smaller races together – the Floppin’ Flounder 5K (PR) and the infamous Peachtree Road Race 10K (PR).  Talk about two totally opposite races!  The 5K was a small race in Charleston (we were there for a wedding), and the Peachtree…well, everyone knows what a shitshow THAT is.  Both were beastly hot, so they had that in common.

The first race hubby and I ran together ended up being the Napa to Sonoma Half Marathon, which was an absolute blast.  Not only did we PR, but we enjoyed gorgeous scenery (seriously, the race felt like it went by in a snap because the surroundings were so lovely) AND a post-race wine tasting festival.  The fact that the race was an excuse to hang out with my sis who lives in San Francisco was an extra special bonus.

In August, I decided to jump back into the tri world, and a girlfriend and I competed in the Tri to Beat Cancer in Athens, Georgia.  Considering how limited my swimming and cycling had been, the race went pretty well – and I was rewarded with a photo op with the great Vince Dooley!  I will always have a special place in my heart for triathlon, because it’s really how I got started with endurance events in the first place, but I think I’ll be focusing on running for a while – it’s just so much simpler than having to remember all that gear!

September was a big month, with the Bike MS at Callaway Gardens (more of a social event than a race, but it got me back on my bike at least) and a first for hubby and me – a 5K and a 10K in the same day, with PRs for both!  The courses were very tough, but it was a fun challenge and one that I’m glad we got to do together.

The last race of the year was the Savannah Rock & Roll Half Marathon.  Even though we PR’d, it was probably my toughest race of the year.  BUT, it was an incredibly fun race weekend, since we ended up renting a beach house with friends and having a terrific time.

So, that adds up to 2 half marathons, 2 5Ks, 2 10Ks, a sprint triathlon, a bike race, and a broken ankle.  I’d say it was an eventful year!

What does 2012 have in store?  Stay tuned to find out!

Comments»

1. David - January 2, 2012

What a great year for you!

What is on the calendar for 2012?

2. bettyjoan - January 2, 2012

Thanks, David! I’ll probably write a separate post about my 2012 calendar, but so far we’ve got a half mary in DC in March, the full in Madrid in April, and then hopefully the Bike MS and Ragnar with you in the fall!


Leave a Reply

