jump to navigation

Insert clever foot cliche here November 18, 2011

Posted by bettyjoan in Running.
Tags: ,
trackback

We had our first group training session for our Madrid marathon team last weekend, and the energy was great.  We are a small team, but I have no doubt that we will be mighty!  We also have a handful of “flex” team members who will be running the Vancouver Marathon shortly after Madrid (so they are basically following our same training schedule), so I hung back a bit and made sure they all had company for our 3-miler.

Then came the pain.

For the remainder of the day, I had some nagging soreness in the arch area of my foot.  I figured it was a stretching issue and it would work itself out.  It didn’t get any better over the next few days, but it didn’t really get any worse.  Or, so I thought.

I went to the track for my Tuesday night speed work, and the Coach told us to warm up, do a few strides, and then do 3 miles at 80%, an easy 400 jog, and then 1 mile at 85%.  I was looking forward to the tough workout, since I had been out of town for so long.  I got through the warmup and the strides, but before I could even finish half of the 3-mile interval, my foot was hurting so badly that I had to stop.  Coach told me to go home and ice, but I went ahead and made an appointment with my foot and ankle doctor the very next day.  Better safe than sorry.

Thankfully, the x-rays came back clear.  Not so thankfully, the doc thinks I’m straining my arch to the point where I’m showing signs of plantar fasciitis.  Boo.  The treatment?  Well, he gave me some little foam pads for extra support (to hopefully avoid the need for full-on orthotics), and he told me to go back to a more structured shoe.  Boo!  I was really loving the lighter trainer that I’ve been running in since August.  Doctor knows best, though, so I went to Big Peach and bought one UGLY pair of shoes – kicking and screaming, of course.  Seriously, is it too much to ask for some girly colors?  I swear, all of these shoe companies would make a mint with TNT folks if they would make every shoe come in a purple option.

So, I am looking forward to strapping on those massive clodhoppers and getting 3-4 miles in tomorrow, hopefully with less pain and irritation.  Once I feel healed, I’m told that I can go back to my lighter trainers for my Tuesday nights at the track.  And I’m determined to scour the interwebs for a prettier version of the Asics 2170…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

