jump to navigation

You gotta have goals January 5, 2011

Posted by bettyjoan in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

Well, 2010 came and went a lot faster than I anticipated.  Every year seems to do that these days.  It was a jam-packed 12 months, though, especially in the realm of endurance events.  I was a mentor for Team In Training.  I PR’d my first event of the year, my favorite sprint tri.  I got a flat – then cried – then fixed that POS and got back in the saddle and finished the race – at my debut “destination” race.  I ran the Peachtree.  I got my first ever DNF at my last tri of the season, but I got to watch all of my mentorees cross the finish line.  I ran a full fracking MARATHON, for goodness sake.  And this year alone, I raised over $3,500 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

So, what can I do to make 2011 an even bigger success?  After chatting with my sister before New Year’s Eve, I came up with some goals, aspirations, resolutions, whatever you want to call them.  They cover just about every aspect of my life (minus my professional life – that stays very separate from the rest of me, and I plan to keep it that way), and I hope to achieve a respectable number of them.

Drumroll, please…

Food/diet goals –

  • Go meatless at least one day per week – pretty self-explanatory.
  • No more than one fast food meal per month – for some reason, I am addicted to junk, and I need to stop, for serious.
  • Be better about moderating alcohol consumption – I don’t want to put a number of days or drinks down on paper, because it is largely going to be a situational decision.  I just want to think more and drink less.
  • Drink at least one cup of tea every evening – I really hate hot tea, but its health benefits and calming effect cannot be ignored.

Exercise/fitness goals –

  • Practice yoga at least once a week – I have never been bitten by the yoga bug, but I know it’s good for endurance athletes, so I’m going to try again.
  • Achieve a half-marathon PR – two chances to do it, the Publix Atlanta half or the Napa-to-Sonoma half!
  • Run at least two 10Ks – I want to run the Peachtree again, but I haven’t settled on another race.
  • Improve hydration while cycling – which basically means “learn how to grasp and drink from a water bottle while pedaling and NOT freaking out and crashing.”

Overall wellness goals –

  • Take vitamins, calcium, and glucosamine every day – I always seem to forget.
  • Moisturize every day – I’m good about the skin on my face, but not the rest of it.
  • Read one book per month – I used to LOVE to read, but I think law school killed that love.  I’m ready to get it back.
  • Improve dental health – by flossing and actually going to the dentist.  I hate the dentist.

I don’t think I’ve gone totally overboard, nor do I think these goals are unrealistic.  Sure, I may miss the mark on a few, but I truly believe I can better myself by sticking to this plan.  I know we’re only a few days into 2011, but it hasn’t been too painful so far (there’s always an adjustment period).  The first real tests will be my hubby’s birthday this weekend – Holemand & Finch and bowling, oh my – and our trip to San Francisco in a week.  Eek!

Here’s to all of us meeting our goals, whatever they may be…

Comments»

1. The Hungry Triathlete - May 3, 2011

[…] back when, I threw a list of goals out there.  At the time, they didn’t seem too numerous or unreasonable.  But, of course, […]


Leave a Reply

