jump to navigation

April…come (and go!) she will… May 12, 2010

Posted by bettyjoan in Races, Running.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Yeesh, I cannot believe it’s been a month since I last posted here – and that it’s MAY, for crying out loud!  Don’t get me wrong, I love May – the weather starts getting warmer, Memorial Day signals the start of summer, and my birthday gets everything started on the 1st – but holy cow, time really does play tricks on you sometimes.

I think part of the problem is that I traveled for half the month of April.  Government travel isn’t always ideal for training, and I feel like my swimming and cycling both took a big hit due to my demanding work schedule.  I did try to run as much as possible, though, which was especially nice when I went to Tampa/St. Pete and was able to jog on the beach!

I flew back from my last business trip on April 30, and my husband picked me up at the airport and whisked me away to a fancy hotel in the city for my birthday weekend.  We ate and drank and were VERY merry, but I couldn’t stay completely away from training.  I ran the Big Peach 5K on my actual birthday (in a purple tiara, of course), and my gift from the running gods was a PR!  I was hoping for a sub-30 finish, but I think that was a bit unrealistic, especially given that it was a particularly humid morning.  But I shaved seven seconds off my 5K time, so I’ll take it!

I have 39 days until my first “real” race of the season, the DC Tri on June 20.  I am more nervous than I anticipated, since I don’t feel like I’m where I should be in my training, and since I’ve never had to deal with the logistics of flying to a tri before.  I still have about a month to fine-tune, though, so hopefully I’ll feel better once I reach my taper week.  This week is a big one – tonight we swim at Dynamo, and then on Saturday we’ll be doing our first open-water swim of the season (followed by a brick, of course).  As if that weren’t enough, I am racing the Skirt Chaser 5K on Saturday evening – a race where the women get a three minute head start, woo hoo!

I should also be getting my marathon training schedule soon, since last night was the official kickoff.  Should be an interesting summer!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

