jump to navigation

New tri gear! August 20, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

When my fiance and I moved from DC to Atlanta in May of 2008, one of the first things we had to do was buy a car.  After all, Atlanta is SUPER spread out, and public transportation is a joke (there’s a train system, but it basically just goes north-south and east-west, and you’re SOL if you live anywhere in between).  So, I paid cash for my dad’s old Infiniti G20, and we rented an apartment that was strategically located within a short bus ride of Jason’s office.  People thought we were  crazy for having only one car in Atlanta, and it wasn’t always the easiest thing to deal with, but we made it work and enjoyed the lack of a car payment.

Then, Jason lost his job.  The good news is that he pulled himself up by the bootstraps and used the layoff as an opportunity to hang out a shingle and do what he truly loves, which is practicing law.  The bad news is that he practices a LOT in Gwinnett County, which is 20-30 miles away from where we live, and he needs the flexibility to go to court and meet with clients on a fairly irregular schedule.

We tried car-pooling for a while, but it usually meant that I’d have to go to work early and leave late, and that we couldn’t run errands and walk our dog and do the other household errands that keep things running smoothly.  I would have loved to ride my bike to work, but the weather doesn’t always cooperate, and my road bike doesn’t have any racks or ways to transport work clothes, lunch, purse, shoes, etc.  I investigated MARTA options, but it would have taken me 3 buses, a half mile of hoofin’ it, and over an hour and a half to get to my office…which is a mere 6 miles away from our loft.  Ridiculous.

So, this week, I bit the bullet and bought a car.  I am pleased to introduce you to…the Bett-mobile!!!

Car 2

It’s a 2006 Ford Escape (certified pre-owned), and it has about 52,000 miles on it.  It doesn’t have any crazy bells and whistles, but with the back seats pushed down, it has plenty of room for my bike and other tri gear!  Plus, my doggie will definitely enjoy the extra space in the back.

Maybe later I’ll install a trailer hitch in order to add a bike rack, but for now, this is a great solution to a lot of problems.  I know it’s a stretch to call it tri gear, but who knows, maybe it will improve my performance because I’ll be able to ride more!  🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

