jump to navigation

I have a dream… August 10, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Races.
Tags: ,
trackback

Out of nowhere, I had a crazy tri dream last night.  Maybe it was spurred by our Team reunion last week (we got together and watched the NBC coverage of the Iron Girl Atlanta event–so cool!), where everyone was talking about which events were next on their respective calendars.  Maybe it was prompted by the fact that yesterday, many of my amazing teammates competed in the Acworth Women’s Sprint Triathlon.  Maybe it was because I have been stuck in a teensy tiny hotel room since Saturday, due to a non-functioning A/C unit.  More than anything, though, I think I was dreaming about triathlons because I MISS TRIATHLONS.

I wanted to sign up for one more event this season, but between my September 5 wedding (woot!), a week-long business trip, and various other life events, I just couldn’t make things work without stressing myself and my husband-to-be more than was reasonable.  I registered for the Zooma Half Marathon in November, which at least gives me something to shoot for athletically (I haven’t figured out my precise goal just yet, but I want to shave some considerable time off my ING finish).  But I don’t know, it’s just not the same.  Wah.

How do other triathletes out there make it through the off-season?  Do you supplement with other sports?  Hone your skills indoors?  Drink heavily and count the days till spring?  Let me know in the comments!

Comments»

1. 'Drea - August 13, 2009

Can’t say that I’m jonesing for a triathlon since I enjoy each activity on its own. I went for a lovely bicycle ride today and was satisfied.

I think I have some idea of how you feel though. I headed to open swim last night only to find out that the pool was closed. I was so unbelievably disappointed and didn’t know what to do with myself.

I’ve been indoor rock climbing of late and I love it. It’s like one big vertical push-up or a puzzle that you scale.


Leave a Reply

