jump to navigation

My new (used) baby May 26, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Cycling.
Tags: ,
trackback

In addition to my farmers market bounty, I also acquired THIS over the weekend:

New bike

Yup, I am finally the proud owner of a road bike (or, as I affectionately called it, my “big girl bike”)!  Check out how pretty it is!  Marvel at its shiny high-end components!

New bike 2

New bike 3

I was contemplating buying a new bike from Performance, but while I was weighing the financial consequences (which wouldn’t have been insignificant), a gal from the spring tri team emailed and said she had a 50 cm Trek for sale, at a MUCH more attractive price point.  Since I know very little about bikes and sizing and what not, one of my coaches agreed to go out and look with me, so that’s how I ended up in my jammies, on a bike trainer, in the middle of an affluent suburban neighborhood at 9:30 on a Sunday morning.  Strangely, even though the seller is a bit taller than me, the fit of this bike was practically perfect (only some minor handlebar adjustments needed, due to my freakishly small hands).

I’m still trying to sell my other bike (a practically new hybrid, great for commuting, in case anyone is interested), and I have a VERY interesting story about my first ride on the new toy, but I am super duper happy!  Now if I can just stop being afraid of my crazy speed…

Comments»

1. briankainec - May 26, 2009

Congrats! We both got new bikes this weekend… race day, here we come.

2. briankainec - May 26, 2009

Congrats Betty!

3. alise - May 26, 2009

Sweet! A bonafide big girl bike!

4. cycle newbie - May 26, 2009

Congratulations! What a lovely bike!

5. bettyjoan - May 27, 2009

Thanks, all! It will take some getting used to, but I already noticed a difference on the uphills.

6. Kristin - May 27, 2009

Yay! Congrats on your new bike!

7. bettyjoan - May 27, 2009

Thanks, Kristin! We are very happy together, and I can’t wait for our long ride this weekend so we can really bond. 😉


Leave a Reply

