jump to navigation

Birthday Challenge April 17, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Cycling, Running, Swimming.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

My birthday is exactly two weeks away.  Yay!  Even though I’m not expecting any grand gifts (mom already got me a handbag and some jewelry, and she couldn’t wait till May to give it to me) or celebrations, I still LOVE it.  I even took off work so I could fully appreciate the wonder that is the day of my birth.  Too bad I don’t live in Europe, where my birthday happens to be a national holiday.

In pondering how to mark the occasion, I came across the B-Fit B-Day Challenge.  Here’s how it works:

Take your age, and in any order:

1) Swim the number of yards in the first number (multiplied by 1000 yards),

2) Run the number of miles in the second number, and

3) Bike the number of miles in the combined number.

So an athlete like myself who is turning 29 would swim 2000 yards, run 9 miles, and bike 29 miles.  Eek!  There are also different levels of challenge completion.

Bronze: Do all three (swim/bike/run) during the week of your Birthday.

Silver: Do all three (swim/bike/run) in the three days before, after, or on your B-Day.

Gold: Do all three (swim/bike/run) in 24-hours to celebrate your B-Day!

Platinum: Do all three in MILES (so my swim would be 2 miles instead of 2000 meters) in 24-hours to celebrate your B-Day!

Now, with my triathlon training schedule, Bronze should pretty much happen automatically, so it’s not as exciting of a challenge.  So if I decide to accept the challenge, it’ll either be Silver, Gold, or Platinum for me.  Think I can do it?  Think YOU can do it?  Sound off in the comments!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

