jump to navigation

Night Swimming April 7, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Swimming.
Tags:
trackback

Last night’s swim was…interesting.  When I got to Dynamo, it was eerily quiet.  There was something missing, something that plagues me during our usual Wednesday night swims.  It was the zillions of bratty kids running around!!!!  The little rugrats (I mean, little darlings…ahem) were on Spring Break, so we had the whole place to ourselves.  Well, not exactly, since we were tagging onto the spring TNT tri team’s practice, but close enough for me.

Even though we were the only swimmers around and it was getting colder by the minute, we still headed out to the “bubble pool” (it is technically still indoors, but it’s covered by a big drafty tent/tarp instead of an actual brick-and-mortar building).  Lo and behold, the lane lines had been switched, so the 25-meter laps we were used to were now 50-meter laps.  In other words, we had to swim twice as long in order to have a wall to grab onto.

Now, if you’re thinking, “But Betty, you’ve been at this swimming thing for two months now, you shouldn’t be grabbing onto the wall after every lap,” you’d technically be correct.  You’d actually sound a lot like my coaches.  And the logical part of my brain knew that one 50-meter lap was no different from two 25-meter laps, and that I could swim (and had been swimming, in fact) two 25-meter laps without stopping and without problems.  But for some odd reason, I was completely psyched out by the longer lanes, and I fumbled a lot with my breathing and overall rhythm.  I think I was also intimidated by being in the pool with and doing the same workout as the spring folks (who have been training since November).  In any case, I didn’t feel my strongest in the water, and I was feeling a little discouraged while I was eating my post-workout burrito.

As with any pursuit, triathlon training has brought good days and bad days.  Last night wasn’t my best swim, but I’ve come a long way since my first aquatic outing.  Hopefully, I can channel last night’s lessons and criticisms into a better next swim.

“Deserves a quiet night…”

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

