jump to navigation

The Struggle and the Fight April 6, 2009

Posted by bettyjoan in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

Last week was tough, to say the least, but not for the usual reasons.  Instead of struggling because I trained too much, I struggled because I trained too little!  Other than the Wednesday night swim and a very short (like, three miles, short) stationary cycle, I really didn’t do much of anything.  In the beginning of the week, I was tired and sore from the ING Half.  At the end of the week, well…I couldn’t seem to summon up any motivation, and I just plain didn’t feel like working out.  But that made me feel even worse, since I knew I shouldn’t be slacking…et cetera, et cetera.  It’s a vicious cycle.

This morning, despite a lousy night of sleep, I hopped out of bed extra early and was at the gym by 6:30 AM.  After a brief cardio warm-up, I hit the weights something fierce.  We’re swimming tonight instead of Wednesday this week (though I’ll likely swim Wednesday, too), so I have no doubt that as of today I’m back on the wagon, re-energized and recommitted.

Speaking of recommitment…April 24 is my recommitment date for Team In Training.  On that date, I have to sign on the dotted line and promise to raise any remaining funds, even if I have to write a check myself.  Fundraising has been a fight for me this year, partly because the economy is crummy, but also partly (I think) because people are tired of donating to my various causes (Relay for Life, Avon Walk, TNT).  I get that, I really do.  And I know that I’m going to have to do more than send a few emails to raise $2,600 (my minimum), so I’m working on a few organized fundraisers that will hopefully bridge the gap.  Every dollar adds up, so I hope people aren’t skipping out on donating because they can only afford to give $5 or $10.

Hopefully, as the week rolls on, there will be all kinds of positive things to report on both the training and the fundraising fronts.  Guess you’ll have to stay tuned to find out!  😉

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

