jump to navigation

2012: A Running Odyssey January 4, 2012

Posted by bettyjoan in Races, Running.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Even though I feel like 2012 is going to be a momentous year in terms of my running, I don’t actually have that much on the calendar.  So far, the only definite registrations are the Rock & Roll USA Half Marathon (March 17 in DC) and, of course, the Rock & Roll Madrid Marathon (April 22 in SPAIN!!!!!).

The “maybes” at this point include the Bike MS (September at Callaway Gardens) and the Tennessee Ragnar Relay (November, I believe).  I say maybe in quotation marks because I’m pretty sure these events are going on the calendar, but the actual registrations haven’t been done.  Although, I seem to remember signing up for the Bike MS at last year’s event – they were doing some deal where you could sign up for a quarter, and who’s going to say no to that?

The REAL maybes are all of the shorter races I feel like I want to do.  Of course, I will try for a Peachtree number, but what else can I add to the calendar?

Option #1: ATC Heart and Soles 5K, February 11.  My track coach recommended this race, and I think our whole “Misery Loves Company” group is encouraged to sign up.  However, it is hard for me to race on Saturdays due to TNT group training sessions, and I’m not a huge fan of the ATC.  That, and hubby probably won’t want to sign up because there is no tee shirt and no medal.  ;-)

Option #2: Charles Harris 10K, February 25.  I’ve wanted to run this race for a while, and I think it will be a good tune-up for the March 17th half marathon.  I think I’ll probably bit the bullet and sign up for this one to get it on the calendar.

Option #3: Chattahoochee Road Runners 5K/10K, March 3.  This would probably only go on the calendar if Charles Harris doesn’t work out – but, even if I do the 10K on February 25th, maybe the 5K would still be a good idea as far as seeing how the speed work is paying off.

Does anyone have any other suggestions?  Or, even better, do you have any feedback on these races?

Comments»

1. camdenstables - January 4, 2012

I am from Eastern Canada and I am running the race with TNT in Spain too!

bettyjoan - January 4, 2012

Great, good for you! Hope your training and fundraising are both going well!

2. David - January 4, 2012

Ragnar is *not* optional.

You can’t say no to the Adventure of a Lifetime!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

